My First Marathon!

My Summer Internship at Chennai was a wonderful experience, what with the sumptuous lunch provided by the company coupled with the effect of Home food. One could say that I had acquired a little paunch by the time I came back to college for the second year.

The running shoes that I had bought last year remained untouched, waiting to be used. It was then one of the committtees, Messcomm – a student driven committee in charge of the mess – decided to conduct a 5 kilometre marathon. Agreed, 5 km might appear easy for some pro-runners. But, I would say that the decision was well thought-out considering that majority of the students would find it difficult. The BIM campus and hostel is located inside the premises of the BHEL industrial complex, a huge-huge area bought by the Central Government in the 60s. An expressway runs through, connecting the factories and offices which is ideal enough to hold a marathon.

I thought the time had come to put the shoes to good use and what royal way than a marathon! All of us gathered at the hostel entrance by 5:30 AM and the marathon started at around 6:30. A combined strength of 120 students started running at the blow of the whistle. Everyone rushed outwards immediately or so I thought. Hardly had I gone like 500 metres in running mode, I found myself panting hard. The lower abdomen was paining like anything and I felt the breath sucked out of me in a horrible way that I was sure I would faint and fall down. For a split second, I thought of returning back. After I had caught my breath and had time to think, I realized that it was not about running but completing the marathon that matters.

It was a combination of fast walking and running. At the half way mark, the mess staff were waiting for us with lemon juice. The first year students were surprisingly fast and many of them were crossing the finish line by 20-25 minutes. I, on the other hand, managed to finish it in around 45 minutes. I felt a sense of achievement on completion. Secretly, I felt exhilarated that quite a number of people finished after me.

Overall, the event was a huge success in terms of the number of people participated. I too felt a rejuvenation in me.

Leave a comment